You can view, add, and edit resource controls on the Resource Controls > List page. On this page you can see the number of running and queued jobs assigned to each resource control, and any conflicts between resource controls. See About Resource Controls for more information.
A job resource control added or edited during a job run will affect that job. An Agent resource control added or edited during a job run will only take effect on subsequent runs of the same job.
To add or edit a resource control:
On the General tab, specify the following properties:
Aggregate Bandwidth: Select this check box to specify the following bandwidth options for the jobs/job components.
To set a bandwidth ceiling and/or floor:
Select the throttle rate unit. The default unit is Bps.
You can also set bandwidth ceiling and floor values by clicking the slider icon. The slider sets the amount of bandwidth as a percentage of standard maximums. The percentage you select appears as a calculated rate in the Bandwidth Ceiling or Bandwidth Floor field.
To set the bandwidth throttle by time of day:
To add an additional time parameter, click .
To remove a bandwidth time parameter, click .
If the resource control is an Agent job group with a configured scope, specify the following (optional):
When multiple controls are assigned to the same Agent, conflicts can occur. In the event of a conflict, a warning appears in the Resource Control List. You can resolve the conflict by specifying a precedence value for one or more of the Agent resource controls. To learn more about managing multiple resource controls, see About Resource Controls.
To specify a precedence value:
Once you have created a resource control, you can give a specific user or user group access to it. In order to have access to a resource control, the user or user group must also have access to the job group or Agents to which it is applied. For information on enabling permissions, see Understanding Users.
A resource control can be removed from a job or Agent either by disabling it or deleting it. It is recommended that you disable an unwanted resource control rather than deleting it. Deleting a job group, Agent, Agent Alias or load balanced Agent group that has an associated resource control will cause a resource control to be deleted.
When you delete a resource control, any limits on concurrent running jobs or bandwidth used will be removed immediately. If the deletion occurs while concurrent jobs are running, the jobs will continue to run at the resource limit at which they began the run. Subsequent runs of the same jobs will no longer be constrained by the deleted resource control. Any queued jobs will immediately be released from the queue and added to the concurrent jobs without bandwidth limits.
If you change the Agent in an Agent Resource Control, the limit on the number of concurrent running jobs using the original Agent and bandwidth limit will be removed immediately. The limit on the number of concurrent running jobs using the new Agent and the bandwidth limit will be applied to all subsequent job runs and all jobs that are queued. Any running jobs will not be counted in the concurrency limit applied.
To enable or disable a resource control:
To delete a resource control: