Understanding Job Queuing

Signiant's job queuing feature allows users to run a set of jobs sequentially, allowing you to control and monitor job throughput and the use of network resources. Job queues are implemented through the use of Job and/or Agent Resource Controls.

Viewing and Modifying Job Group Queues

You can view job queues in Administration > Resource Controls > List or in Jobs > Bandwidth/Concurrency Control. The View Job Queue option will only appear when you select a job group that has the relevant resource control applied.

The Bandwidth/Concurrency Control pages display:

  • The job group name
  • The jobs in the queue
  • The queue order
  • The percentage of completion, for running jobs
  • The state of the jobs in the queue (Running, Next Run Queued)
  • The time the jobs were placed in the queue
  • The priority of the job (Low, Medium, High, Urgent, Immediate)
  • The time or job before which the job must complete, if a Finish Before setting has been applied

Note: The default priority level for jobs is Medium.

Changing the Order of Queued Jobs

You can only change the order of one job at a time. Jobs that are queued by an Agent resource control can also be queued by a job resource control. When both types of resource control are applied to a job, the job is first queued in the job concurrency queue. When it reaches the start of the queue and starts running, it becomes controlled by the Agent concurrency queue.

View Job Queue

To change the order of queued jobs:

  1. In your Manager, navigate to Jobs > Bandwidth/Concurrency Control or Administration > Resource Controls > List.
  2. Select a queued job and click View Job Queue.
  3. Select the progress bar for a queued job and drag it left or right to the desired position in the queue.

    Note: To see all queued jobs, you can drag the zoom slider on the toolbar.

  4. Click Apply Order, or click Reset Order to undo the change.

Adding a Job to a Queue

You can only add a job to a queue if the job is in a job group that has resource controls applied to it.

To add a job to a queue:

  1. In Jobs > Groups, select the resource controlled job group to which you want to add the job.
  2. Choose View Jobs.
  3. Click Add.
  4. Select the job template library and job template.

Removing a Job from a Queue

Cancelling a queued job run removes it from the queue. Cancelling a running job terminates the job, and leaves the transfer incomplete. Cancelling a queued job removes the job run from the queue and moves any remaining jobs forward in the queue. Future job runs of a scheduled job are not affected by cancelling a specific queued job run for that job. Deleting a running queued job cancels the job in mid-stream and removes all future runs of the job.

To remove a job run from a job queue:

  1. In Jobs > Groups, select the resource controlled Job Group from which you want to remove the Job.
  2. Click View Jobs.
  3. Click View Job Queue.
  4. Select a job in the queue, click Cancel, and confirm the cancellation.

A job will also be removed from a queue if the resource control applied to it is disabled or deleted. For more information, see Using Resource Controls.

About SigniantSigniant’s intelligent file movement software helps the world’s top content creators and distributors ensure fast, secure delivery of large files over public and private networks. Built on Signiant’s patented technology, the company’s on-premises software and SaaS solutions move petabytes of high-value data every day between users, applications and systems with proven ease.LEARN MORE